Visa information to travel India

Visa Information

Visa is a mandatory document required for any foreign individual for arrival in India whether the interest is to visit as a tourist, business purpose or any other purpose regardless. Government of India issues the following visas: e-Visa, Business Visa, Conference Visa, Diplomatic Visa, Employment Visa, Emergency Visa, Entry Visa, Journalist Visa, Medical Visa, Missionaries Visa Research Visa, Student Visa, Tourist Visa, Transit Visa, Intern Visa and Film Visa. People arriving India for recreational activities, travel for rejuvenation or a casual visit to friends or family can apply for a tourist visa valid for 180 days and Permit to re-enter within 2 months.

Regular Visa Application

All individual visa application seekers are supposed to apply for the Indian visa online through link After submission of application form, individual is required to carry his/her supporting documents for interview on the scheduled date and place for the appointment. You can check for the visa application status online using the link

Student Visa

This visa is mandatory for any educational certification course applied in India. You need to get a valid acceptance letter from the institution with all the details relevant to the course. Once approved, you can get the certification course completed in the aforesaid time mentioned in the supporting documents.

E-tourist Visa

This visa type is useful for people visiting India for recreational activities, sightseeing, therapeutic treatments/medical treatments or a casual visit to relatives. This is a hassle free process to obtain the visa with no interference of any agent or third party vendor. You simply have to fill an online application form to get the visa approval.

List of countries for which e-tourist visa is applicable (on arrival visa)

Albania, Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Island, Chile, China, China- SAR Hongkong, China- SAR Macau, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'lvoire, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Island, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, USA, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

It is recommended to apply for visa 15 days prior arrival; passport should be valid for at least 6 months with all the supporting documents. Guests are required to carry a printed copy of visa with valid identity proof and 2 passport size photographs.